Writing 101 [11]: Update Your Readers Over A Cup of Coffee (Tea for me).

shutterstock_698537053-1280x960

If we were having coffee right now…

I would have ordered tea and a chocolate chip muffin instead of coffee. I would then explain my love for the smell of coffee, but my disinterest for the taste (which is still unknown). You would definitely have ordered coffee.

If we were having coffee right now…

I would then ask random questions so as to distract you from the awkwardness that I am.

“Do you like art?”. “What sort of clothing do you like?”. “If you could skydive or scuba dive, what would you choose?” “Pizza.” (that, would just be a one word statement. Not a question.)

If we were having coffee right now…

It would be night at 21:40 (as I write) here where I live. I am sure there would be stars and a beautiful dark sky powdered with grey clouds and a chilly breeze, but, we would be sitting near the window barrier, enjoying both the scene and being engrossed in the most stimulating conversation on anything inviting (and uninviting) at this time, with the tea and coffee warming us.

If we were having coffee right now…

I would want to hear about your life. I would like to hear about your experiences. Your interests, your disinterests, how you view life from your perspective. Don’t worry, I am confident that I am a good listener (so my friends say). If I seem bored, it’s just the magic of tea running out – and fret not, I’ll just order another cup.

If we were having coffee right now…

I would at long last look at the time and say, wide-eyed, “I have to go!”, like the way Cinderella did as the clock struck 12. I would apologize and ask for another day to have a cup of coffee (and tea) with you. And I hope you say yes 🙂 .

2 thoughts on “Writing 101 [11]: Update Your Readers Over A Cup of Coffee (Tea for me).

Leave a Reply

