The Snowflake Man (my Soul Mate).

There was once a man named Wilson Bentley. He was crazy about Snowflakes. He was CRAZY about Snowflakes! Their shapes, sizes, and the fact that no two snowflakes are the same – he was as curious on the topic of snowflakes as Alice was about everything. It was this curiosity of his that lead him to inventing a device (microscope + camera) that allowed him to actually witness real snowflakes.

images (2)

Now let me inform you about his work. As far as I know, snowflakes melt rather quickly. I have never experienced snow but, I mean ice – it melts fast too. To actually capture the image of a real life snowflake in a self invented device, I am nothing more than impressed at the thought of this actually working out! I mean, just imagine! a microscopic snowflake being captured within a certain time limit before it melts! Its just an absurdly, yet truly a wonderful idea which has been practiced and carried out by Bentley.

It wasn’t just a curiosity; it was a passion. A beautiful passion, that let him make the most out of his life (and an album/diary of pictures of snowflakes)

Thus, I leave you with this, a MUST watch documentary – which I came to know the existence of through Poseidons99. Thanks to them, I know of the existence of such a passionate person πŸ˜€

A bit of his work – according to Google:

3168689453_e8515f01de_o Wilson-Bentley-snow

A question may cross your mind: why I consider him my soul mate? and here is thy answer –

According to Wikipedia, he was born on the 7th of February (on the same day as me! :D). And for his craziness and love for snowflakes (mine, although, visibly less than his, in quantity but not so much in quality). So, he was my soul mate ahaha πŸ˜€

Thank you for reading πŸ˜€

– ❀ from the Little Snowflake

images (1)

10 thoughts on “The Snowflake Man (my Soul Mate).

    • It’s so good to know people of the same birth date! πŸ˜€
      Lucky you for the beautiful snowfall. Over here it is getting hotter day by day 😦
      Thank you so much for sharing the pictures with me! πŸ˜€
      And you stitch work is amazing! It looks really neatly done! I wish I get back to my abandoned projects too. Good luck with it! (if you have not yet finished it) πŸ˜€

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Indeed a passionate man. Those pictures are so beautiful.. depicting snowflakes in varied shapes and designs πŸ™‚
    And the fact about same birthdate and passion is amusing! πŸ˜‰
    It must have been a real surprise to you πŸ˜€

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yes the outcome of his experiment (i’ll always call it his crazy passion) was the most beautiful thing about this. Especially the process to gain such an outcome.
      hahah I was so amused after watching the documentary and finding out the birth date! πŸ˜€
      it made my day πŸ˜›

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Reblogged this on Gail's Blog and commented:
    Thank you, littlesnowflake, for posting this lovely documentary. I enjoyed it and want to share with my readers. More than just a story about a passion, it’s about science, determination and the ability to see beauty in what others take for granted.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you so much Gail! It’s really his ideology, and yes determination and that beauty of passion for snowflakes that really make it something different πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

      • [Reply for the bird comment] It was just beautiful. I just kept on saying you were lucky to see it all but now im going to say it with an actual intention (since tbh i never knew anything about it)- this was just a really great experience you had.
        Each stage of their growth in the pictures is just as surprising and miraculous as the first time I saw the eggs in our flower pot. Thank you so much for sharing this!! Im so glad you actually took the risk and shared it!!! thank you! πŸ˜€

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

