Incomplete Shenanigans (no. 1) – My Idea of Venice

My completely incomplete shenanigans. That is what I have thought to keep a page about. As I have mentioned before, I love art. I would draw out the world if I weren’t too conscious of messing it up. And whatever projects I have started from my initial art years (there was not much initial-ity actually; I just drew, my hands moved on their own), I have decided to have them uploaded here, instead of me forcing them to join their fellow comrades in the oblivion of the recycle bin or the materialistic trash can (the real bin, you know)

So for the first incomplete art piece, I present to you *curtain lifts, heart beat increases, goose bumps felt and of course drum roollll*

My idea of Venice (when I must have been 15/16 years old) 20150120_214555

For this “project” I used a pencil, eraser, plain water colors, and no reference for a picture. I had (and still have) not much of a good eye for the shading and light effects, so all I did was use my imagination, of how, if ever, I visited Venice, I would find it at night (of course there would be more people, and colors, a moon and the buildings would be complete).

It took me two pages (I don;t remember why), but it looked like a good idea to expand the project. (I am guessing I wanted a bridge initially, and drew half the bridge and then thought of expanding it). 20150120_214630

I have always imagined Venice to be a “City of Water”. People crossing water canals using boats, instead of roads and pedestrian crossings like we normally do. (it makes me giggle , the thought 🙂 ). So, that is why I drew this man of night in a boat (oh no he is going to crash in the bridge now that I see their sizes! ). Good thing I didn’t complete it eh? (I love blue though; the shades of blue are beautiful – not only the one in the picture lol, but normally, midnight blue is really romantic [not that I am one but you know, metaphors]) 20150120_214620

And lastly, we come to the bridge. Nothing special, just a badly drawn bridge which screams out “fix me damn it!”. And the stairs..ahaha okay. I like bridges; they are a metaphor of connection. Between lands, people, hearts – however you may think of it. So yeah, the bridge is put here.  I wanted the (invisible) people in the drawing to be able to cross the bridge and be able to explore the land on the opposite side i guess – (is it similar in Venice? Or people cross the “street” using the canals only?) So yes, my crazy artistic delusions, I shall post them here (and you readers, are granted the right to mock it, so it can be better). So now you can witness my modesty when I say I am not good at art but I would like to learn it and improve on it. I will post more of my incomplete shenanigans soon! Ciao!

Leave a Reply

